Chapter 11 – Ronin’s Trial

We had overcome the trial from the magical god Vandal.

Luna Maria and Will rejoiced, high-fiving each other.

Luna Maria praised Will’s wit to the fullest extent.

“No way, I had never dreamed of carrying water as ice. Maybe Will is a hero of wisdom.”

“A hero of wisdom?”

“Yes, there are many kinds of heroes, and they have two names depending on their characteristics. If you are good at swords, you are a sword hero, if you are good at protecting people, you are a shield hero.”

“Hmm, is that so. However I will say it again, I’m not a hero. I don’t have the sign of a hero.”

When I answered Maria it was Ronin who spoke.

“Yes, my Will has no sign. In the past, we counted the number of moles on his body, but there was no sign.”

“… when did you do that?”

Without making eye contact with his mother Milia, he answered that he was an infant.

“It wasn’t counting, it was just counted unilaterally.”

“Ah, is that so.”

“There is no sign on Will, but Will is the strongest man even without a sign. A brave man can be defeated by Will with only one hand. I trained him that much.” Ronin intervened, sticking his tongue out with a playful expression.

After that, Ronin announced a second trial.

“The second trial is from me, the sword god Ronin.”

Luna Maria and I swallowed nervously.

Even the first trial was pretty hard.

It could be expected that the challenge presented by the martial arts club Ronin will be several steps higher than Vandal.

Ronin made this big announcement to us as he watched us swallow nervously.

The test that Ronin spoke aloud was a test that was very Ronin-like.

“Okay, we’ll have you fight monsters with your sword.”

“Monsters with a sword …. it’s a simple test.”

“I don’t like this Ronin is too messy.”

“I can hear you,” Ronin said stopping.

“I will have you fight a training golem that Vandal creates. You can only use a sword. Attack magic and strengthening magic are prohibited,” he continued.

It was Milia who spoke from the side.

“But isn’t that easy? Will can kill a level 5 golem with bare hands.”

“Yes, so Will shouldn’t fight this time.”

“Eh? Should I not fight?”

“Yeah. This is a test to see how you two are prepared and compatible. Will guides the lady and destroys the golem.”

“But Luna Maria seems to have never held a sword before.”

Luna Maria takes out the short sword from her cloak.

“The Earth Mother God warns against holding a knife, but blind priestesses are allowed to carry weapons for traveling. I have trained since childhood.”

“If that’s the case, it’ll be manageable,” says Ronin.

“Yes. This trial is convincing. Will is strong but I am a servant who claims to protect Will. If this servant is too weak, I will promise not talk back about this. Please let me do this trial.”

“Good reply, princess. So should I use a level 2 golem?”

“No problem. Will you have beaten this one, right?”

“Yes. I’m sure I was already at level 2 when I was 5 years old.”

“If that’s so, it’s affordable.”

Luna Maria then pulls her sword out of the sheath and cuts the sky. Seems to be accustomed to using her shoulders.

I want to give her some advice but I don’t have any words.

I have never given advice to anyone before.

Also, since level 2 golems were treated as small fish from the time I was little, I didn’t know the point in struggling with this.

(Well, this is also a service issue. Maybe Luna Maria will defeat it in no time.)

With that in mind, I decided to watch the game in a relaxed manner but it something unforeseen developed when the match started.

Luna Maria was pushed back.

At first, I thought her blindness was a handicap but it seemed different.

Instead of being blind, she is as audible as a human being. Hearing the sound of the golems, avoiding the enemy’s attacks accurately and punching inside the enemy’s gap.

She started attacking elegantly as if she were dancing Butoh*.

However, although she was attacking very sporadically, the golem was the dominant one.

Although she was a master class in terms of ability, Luna Maria’s attack could not pass through it at all.

Although she accurately hit the sword into the joints of the golem, the golem did not seem to be hurt.

“Maybe this isn’t Level 2?”

He looked at Vandal, and slowly shook his head.

“It’s a level 2 mad golem.–However, this is a Will specification.”

“Will specification?”

“You destroyed the golem from an early age, so I made the golem stronger so that I could train you. For me, it is a level 2 golem. I took it to the Wizard Society and it was deemed to be at least a level 10 Golem. “

What is that! ? This guy.

“………”

I am terrified and do not speak but I could not say much loudly because I was the one who gave birth to this specification.

“And that girl’s short sword has sacred magic attached to it. It worked well against undead and evil beings but it doesn’t seem to be particularly effective against magical creatures.”

“That’s right. Then …”

He started cast magic, but was stopped by Ronin.

“Oops, don’t cast magic. You only have to use your mouth. Let’s make that girl win with just instructions.”

“Only instructions …”

Luna Maria is clearly inferior and is being cornered by the wall.

It was clear that the weakness was also due to lack of offensive power so it seemed that there was no way to go except increasing her offensive power.

The best way to do this is to increase the attack power of your sword with the added magic but this time, in this test, magic is prohibited.

I had to think of something else, but I couldn’t come up with one.

But if I didn’t think of one, Luna Maria would lose.

We will be defeated.

Then I couldn’t go to the outside world.

When I thought this, I observed Luna Maria and Golem.

I remembered the characteristics of golems that Vandal had taught me.

“A golem is a magical creature made from kneading mud. Golems made of iron are difficult to destroy but if you come across such troubles, you can hit the Golem’s weak point. The weak point of a Golem is written somewhere on its body. If you erase that one character, the command will switch to self-destruction and it will die immediately. That’s the type of creature a Golem is.  “

I remembered learning such a thing.

After that, whether it was an iron Golem or a mithril Golem, it could be destroyed. I could manage by hitting the weak points so I had forgoten this but this knowledge was not wasted.

When the Golem is stripped naked with the magic of “analysis” I could find the place where the letters were written.

On Mad Golems the magic letters were on the back.

“Luna Maria! Erase the letters and initials on his back. Then he will fall!”

Luna Maria, who heard his words, nodded lightly. She fended off the enemy’s blow and flew into the air.

As light as a street performer, she jumped onto the back of the Mad Golem and rubbed her finger to find the part where the letters were written.

Even being blind, Luna Maria finished looking for the character’s position with a sense of touch that was more sensitive than that of an average person and as I had told her, she scraped off the character.

The command system of the Golem whose initials had been cut by the short sword was destroyed. The body too.

The Golem’s body, which was hard like steel, became brittle as if it had become an earthenware object and it could no longer support its own weight.

When the Golem collapsed as it was, it returned to its original block of soil.

In other words, Luna Maria had won.

She bounced lightly on the spot, listened for my position and jumped onto my chest.

“As expected of Will! he’s like a genius soldier!”

She is a little older than me and was a little taller, so when she hugged me, her chest just filled my face.

Moreover, because of her age, it was too rich to breathe.

Mother Milia often did the same thing but when Luna Maria did the same, her face turned bright red.

The feeling of being happy and the feeling of being ashamed were born at the same time.

Ronin explained that it was puberty but anyway, we overcame Ronin’s test.

Ronin did well! He Struck us on the back.

However, he also said that he was going to be the uncle.

“I forgive the two trips but I don’t want to be a grandpa yet. I’m contraceptive.”

He laughed lively.

Luna Maria had a bright red face but I was also the same.

Vandal sighed, “Oh no, no man without delicacy,” but he thought he was also guilty because he was laughing too.

*Butoh is a type of Japanese dance

Sorry I took so long to send out a chapter! Lot’s of things have happened lately but I hope you enjoyed it!

2 thoughts on “Chapter 11 – Ronin’s Trial

  1. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the great work!

    Like

Leave a comment